Alumni


Graduate Students – Ph.D. (Genealogy)


Kristen A. Andersen
Ph.D. 2015

Catalent Pharma Solutions
Madison, WI
krandersen@gmail.com

Matthew R. Aronoff
Ph.D. 2015

Postdoctorate
ETH–Zürich
matthew.aronoff@org.chem.ethz.ch

Joseph B. Binder
Ph.D. 2009

Dow Chemical
Collegeville, PA
jbbinder@dow.com

Benjamin R. Caes
Ph.D. 2012

Eurofins
Des Moines, IA
ben.caes@siegwerk.com

Tzu-Yuan (Cindy) Chao
Ph.D. 2010

Synermore
Taipei City, Taiwan
cchao@synermore.com

Sayani Chattopadhyay
Ph.D. 2012

Champion Technologies
Houston, TX
sayani.chattopadhyay@champ-tech.com

Peter T. Chivers
Ph.D. 1996

Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor)
University of Durham
peter.chivers@durham.ac.uk

Amit Choudhary
Ph.D. 2011

Assistant Professor
Harvard Medical School
achoud@broadinstitute.org

Stephen B. delCardayré
Ph.D. 1994

REG Life Sciences
South San Francisco, CA
steve.delcardayre@regI.com

Wen Chyan
Ph.D. 2018

McKinsey & Company
Chicago, IL
wenchyan1@gmail.com

Kimberly A. Dickson
Ph.D. 2006

Associate Professor (tenured)
Lawrence University
kimberly.dickson@lawrence.edu

Eric S. Eberhardt
Ph.D. 1995

Associate Professor (tenured)
Vassar College
ereberhardt@vassar.edu

Chelcie H. Eller
Ph.D. 2014

Abcam
Eugene, OR
chelcie.eller@abcam.com

Gregory A. Ellis
Ph.D. 2011

Research Biologist
Naval Research Laboratory
gaellis12@gmail.com

Aubrey J. Ellison
Ph.D. 2017

Lecturer
University of Wisconsin–Madison
aellison@chem.com

Stephen M. Fuchs
Ph.D. 2006

Assistant Professor
Tufts University
stephen.fuchs@tufts.edu

Emily R. Garnett
Ph.D. 2018

Clinical Chemistry Fellow
Baylor College of Medicine
egarnett@mit.edu

Kelly L. Gorres
Ph.D. 2009

Assistant Professor
University of Wisconsin–La Crosse
kgorres@uwlax.edu

Marcia C. Haigis
Ph.D. 2002

Professor (tenured)
Harvard Medical School
marcia_haigis@hms.harvard.edu

Joshua J. Higgin
Ph.D. 2004

Research Triangle Institute
Research Triangle Park, NC
higgin@unc.edu

Trish T. Hoang
Ph.D. 2016

Promega
Fitchburg, WI
trishoang0211@gmail.com

Cara L. Jenkins
Ph.D. 2004

Administrative Program Specialist
University of Wisconsin–Madison
clbradfo@wisc.edu

R. Jeremy Johnson
Ph.D. 2007

Associate Professor (tenured)
Butler University
rjjohns1@butler.edu

Sean B. Johnston
Ph.D. 2015

Google
Mountain View, CA
seanjohnston@google.com

Jeet Kalia
Ph.D. 2008

Assistant Professor
IISER Pune
jkalia@iiserpune.ac.in

Bradley R. Kelemen
Ph.D. 1999

Genencor
Palo Alto, CA
bkelemen@genencor.com

Elizabeth A. Kersteen
Ph.D. 2005

Luminex
Middleton, WI
ekersteen@eragen.com

Jin-Soo Kim
Ph.D. 1994

Professor (tenured)
Seoul National University
jskim01@snu.ac.kr

Tony A. Klink
Ph.D. 2000

Wisconsin Crop Improvement Association
Madison, WI
wcia@mailplus.wisc.edu

Luke D. Lavis
Ph.D. 2008

Group Leader
Janelia Farm Research Campus (HHMI)
lavisl@janelia.hhmi.org

J. Eugene Lee
Ph.D. 2006

KRISS
Daejeon, South Korea
j.eugenelee@gmail.com

Peter A. Leland
Ph.D. 2000

Aldevron
Madison, WI
protein@aldevron.com

Michael N. Levine
Ph.D. 2011, M.D. 2013

Surgeon
San Diego, California
mnlevine@ucsd.edu

Jo E. Lomax
Ph.D. 2014

Program Director
Harvard Medical School
​jelomax@gmail.com

John C. Lukesh, III
Ph.D. 2014

Assistant Professor
Wake Forest University
lukeshjc@wfu.edu

June M. Messmore
Ph.D. 1999

Scientist
Rosalind Franklin University
june.brownlee@rosalindfranklin.edu

Kalie A. Mix
Ph.D. 2017

Sanofi Genzyme
Framingham, MA
kalie.mix18@gmail.com

Robert W. Newberry
Ph.D. 2016

Postdoctorate
University of California, San Francisco
robert.newberry@ucsf.edu

Bradley L. Nilsson
Ph.D. 2003

Associate Professor (tenured)
University of Rochester
nilsson@chem.rochester.edu

Michael J. Palte
Ph.D. 2012, M.D. 2014

Postdoctorate
Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
mpalte@gmail.com

Chiwook Park
Ph.D. 2000

Associate Professor (tenured)
Purdue University
park6@purdue.edu

Sang-Hyun Park
Ph.D. 1999

Associate Professor
Seoul National University
biopark@snu.ac.kr

David J. Quirk
Ph.D. 1996

Thomas J. Rutkoski
Ph.D. 2008

Centyrex Venture
Spring House, PA
trutkosk@its.jnj.com

Matthew D. Shoulders
Ph.D. 2009

Associate Professor
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
mshoulde@mit.edu

Bryan D. Smith
Ph.D. 2006

Deciphera Pharmaceuticals
Lawrence, KS
bsmith@deciphera.com

Thomas P. Smith
Ph.D. 2017

Postdoctorate
Promega, San Luis Obispo, CA
thomas.smith@promega.com

Matthew B. Soellner
Ph.D. 2005

Affiliate Assistant Professor
University of Michigan
soellner@umich.edu

Nadia K. Sundlass
Ph.D. 2011, M.D. 2013

Dermatologist
Wexford, PA
nadia.sundlass@gmail.com

Annie Tam
Ph.D. 2007

Bristol–Myers Squibb
New Brunswick, NJ
annie.tam@bms.com

Barbra M. Templer
Ph.D. 1998

Obstetrician/Gynecologist
Portland, OR
barbrafisher@hotmail.com

James E. Thompson
Ph.D. 1995

LifeMine Therapeutics
Cambridge, MA
james.thompson@novartis.com

Rebecca F. Turcotte
Ph.D. 2008, M.D. 2010

Pedicatrician
Columbia University Medical Center
rft2106@columbia.edu

James D. Vasta
Ph.D. 2015

Promega
Fitchburg, WI
jdvasta@gmail.com

Rex W. Watkins
Ph.D. 2010

Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
Palo Alto, CA
rwatkins@wsgr.com

Paula K. Wittmayer
Ph.D. 1996

Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals
Ridgefield, CT
paula.wittmayer@boehringer-ingelheim.com

Kenneth J. Woycechowsky
Ph.D. 2002

Professor (tenured)
Tianjin University
kenneth@tju.edu.cn


Postdoctorates


Matthew J. Allen
2004–2007

Professor (tenured)
Wayne State University
mallen@chem.wayne.edu

Ulrich Arnold
1999–2004, 2006

Scientist and Administrator
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
ulrich.arnold@biochemtech.uni-halle.de

Rasomoy Biswas
2011–2014

Aenova Group
Tittmoning, Germany
rasomoy.biswas@gmail.com

Margie T. Borra
2005–2008

Codexis
Redwood City, CA
margie.borra-garske@codexis.com

Lynn E. Bretscher
1997–1999

Olympic Yarn & Fiber
Montesano, WA
contact@olympicyarnandfiber.com

Sunil Chandran
2001–2004

Amyris
Emeryville, CA
chandran@amyris.com

Ho-Hsuan Chou
2009–2013

Assistant Professor
National Cheng-Kung University
hohsuan@mail.ncku.edu.tw

Mark A. Danielson
1998–2002

Scientist
Mayo Clinic
danielson.mark@mayo.edu

Kevin K. Desai
2011–2016

Aeon Global Health
Gainesville, GA
kdesai@aeonclinical.com

Daniel Gottlieb
2006–2008

Merckle Biotec
Ulm, Germany
daniel.gottlieb@merckle.de

Thimmaiah Govindaraju
2005–2006

Associate Professor (tenured)
JNCASR
tgraju@jncasr.ac.in

Jeung-Hoi Ha
1990–1993

Scientist
SUNY Upstate Medical University
haj@upstate.edu

Jonathan A. Hodges
2000–2004

Affinergy
Durham, NC
jahodges@nc.rr.com

Steven K. Holmgren
1995–1997

Adjunct Professor
Montana State University
holmgren@chemistry.montana.edu

Robert J. Hondal
1998–2002

Associate Professor (tenured)
University of Vermont College of Medicine
robert.hondal@uvm.edu

Jia-Cherng (Jason) Horng
2004–2006

Associate Professor (tenured)
National Tsing Hua University
jchorng@mx.nthu.edu.tw

Katrina H. Jensen
2010–2011

Associate Professor (tenured)
Black Hills State University
katrina.jensen@bhsu.edu

Byung-Moon Kim
1996–1999

KAIST
Daejeon, South Korea
bmkim63@yahoo.com

Frank W. Kotch
2003–2007

Pfizer
Pearl River, NY
frank.kotch@gmail.com

Tatiana G. Kutateladze
1994–1995

Professor (tenured)
University of Colorado School of Medicine
tatiana.kutateladze@ucdenver.edu

Langdon J. Martin
2008–2012

Professor (tenured)
Warren Wilson College
lmartin@warren-wilson.edu

Nicholas A. McGrath
2010–2013

Assistant Professor
University of Wisconsin–La Crosse
nmcgrath@uwlax.edu

Brian G. Miller
2001–2005

Professor (tenured)
Florida State University
miller@chem.fsu.edu

Eddie L. Myers
2006–2009

Lecturer (Assistant Professor)
NUI Galway
eddie.myers@nuigalway.ie

Moushumi Paul
2005–2006

United States Department of Agriculture
Philadelphia, PA
moushumi.paul@ars.usda.gov

Marc Ribó
1995

Associate Professor (tenured)
Universitat de Girona
marc.ribo@udg.es

L. Wayne Schultz
1995–1999

Athenex
Buffalo, NY
schultz@nexus.hwi.buffalo.edu

Rodrigo E. Teixeira
2015–2017

Hyrax Energy
Menlo Park, CA
rodrigo.teixeira@hyraxenergy.com

Thomas R. Van Oosbree
2011–2012

Semba Biosciences
Madison, WI

Brett VanVeller
2011–2014

Assistant Professor
Iowa State University
bvv@iastate.edu


Graduate Students – M.S.


Richele L. Abel
M.S. 2001

Christine N. Bradford
M.S. 2014

Stephen J. Mannino
M.S. 1999

Robert G. Presler, Jr.
M.S. 2013

Seth R. Barrows
M.S. 1999

Lauren N. Carroll
M.S. 2010

Nicole McElfresh
M.S. 2008

Kaylee A. Underkofler
M.S. 2014

Eric S. Benedict
M.S. 2004

Matthew P. Hinderaker
M.S. 2002

Jessica D. Pope
M.S. 2000

Jon F. Wilkins
M.S. 1998


Interns


Thomas Baumann
2006
Germany

Parit Plainkum
2000 – 2001
Thailand

Mariëlle Delville
2008 – 2009
The Netherlands

Marc Ribó
1992
Spain

Alice Ghidini
2014
Sweden

Christine I. Schilling
2005
Germany


Undergraduate Hall-Of-Fame


Donald J. Bauhs, Jr.

Amanda L. Beltrame

Jacqueline J. Blank

George N. Caucutt

Chin Leng Cheng

Amy K. F. Davis

Dana N. Fuchs

Bernard D. Fula

Juneko E. Grilley

Patrick W. Hein

Kimberli J. Kamer

Vanessa M. Kung

Erin L. Kurten

Shawn R. Lin

Bryan D. Marks

Jennifer L. McKenzie

David M. Niergarten

Samuel J. Orke

Nicholas Panasik, Jr.

Alexander A. Peterson

Joel M. Prince

Khan Hong Pua

Kristine E. Staniszewski

Rosamond Y. Sweeney

Marion P. Toscano

Fernando D. Venegas

Michael J. Waddell

Kelly K. Wallin

Kevin A. Walters

Melissa M. Yatzeck

Erich M. Yokel